It’s been a while, but I’ve actually created something new to post!

Yeah, I didn’t intend to leave this much of a break from the blog.  I had very good intentions, but a lot has happened since my last post so I haven’t been able to do much sewing in between.  We’ve moved house and staying with my in-laws until we’ve found our perfect home to buy (we’re very fussy).  I did bring my sewing machine so have managed to get some sewing done every so often but not as much as I would have liked to.

So without further ado, I introduce the completed Oliver + S Sailboat top, I made for my 18 month old girl.  I’ll admit I still have A LOT to learn when it comes to sewing and having neat finishes, but I’m fairly pleased as to how this turned out (as long as you don’t look at it inside out!!).

I’m a little disappointed with the sizing, as per the previous Oliver + S Family Reunion Blouse I made where, despite making it in a much bigger size, she only wore it a couple of times before it was too small.  According to the charts, she is on the small size so I am surprised that she struggles to fit in their clothes.  I made size 2T after thinking it would be bigger than the other choice being size 18-24 months.

The top is too long in the arms, but I can easily roll up the sleeves, but it isn’t terribly long in the waist which I would have expected it to be if the arms were long.  It’s also a little tight on her tummy, but then she does have a bit of a pot belly!!

I kept hoping to get photos of it on the hanger looking all pristine, but it never happened, so you just have her modelling said outfit at Chatsworth Farmyard and Adventure Playground which we went to 11 March 2012 when we had a bit of a heatwave here in the UK for a couple of days.  Very odd when it was still officially winter.  I would definitely recommend it if you have got kids and if not, a visit to the stunning Chatsworth House and Gardens is also definitely worthwhile.

Oliver + S Sailboat top by The Occasional Craft

Goofy look on face but it is the only shot I could get of her facing the camera!   To be fair, the top does still look a bit big on her in the photos, her shoulders are massive so perhaps I’m not giving it as much justice as it deserves and she *might* still fit into it when she does reach two.

Oliver + S Sailboat top by The Occasional Craft

With her dad checking out the goats. Only problem with buying 100% cotton fabric, is the amount of ironing (my major chore hate!) required so her top gets creased dead easily!

Oliver + S Sailboat top by The Occasional Craft

Oliver + S Sailboat top by The Occasional Craft

I’ve had the pale blue polka dot fabric for quite some time, but I’m pretty sure I bought it from Saints & Pinners, although it is no longer available on their website.  I was toying with having contrasting colour for the top-stitched detail around the neck line and hem, with contrasting coloured buttons, however, I found in my collection the perfect shade of blue which was just a touch darker than the fabric itself which works really well, along with the perfect shade of blue polka dot buttons I found at a market stall in Derby Eagle Centre Markets.

I do plan on making the sailboat trousers too which I think are gorgeous, but I won’t make them to necessarily match the top.  Some lovely dark corduroy with bright yellow buttons or something similar would look really good.

I do hope to post again in the next couple of weeks or so too, I am working very hard at the patchwork quilt I started last July for my daughters cot bed, with only the binding left to start this weekend!

Leave a Reply

